Coverart for item
The Resource The well-tempered city : what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life, Jonathan F. P. Rose

The well-tempered city : what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life, Jonathan F. P. Rose

Label
The well-tempered city : what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life
Title
The well-tempered city
Title remainder
what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life
Statement of responsibility
Jonathan F. P. Rose
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
In the vein of Jane Jacobs's The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Edward Glaeser's Triumph of the City, Jonathan F.P. Rose--a visionary in urban development and renewal--champions the role of cities in addressing the environmental, economic, and social challenges of the 21st century. Cities are birthplaces of civilization; centers of culture, trade, and progress; cauldrons of opportunity--and by 2080 will be home to 80% of the world's population. As the 21st century progresses, metropolitan areas will bear the brunt of global megatrends such as climate change, natural resource depletion, population growth, income inequality, mass migration, and education and health disparity, among many others. ln this book, Jonathan F.P. Rose--the man who "repairs the fabric of cities"--distills a lifetime of interdisciplinary research and firsthand experience into a five-pronged model for designing and reshaping cities with the goal of equalizing their landscape of opportunity. Drawing from the musical concept of "temperament," Rose argues that well-tempered cities can be infused with systems that bend the arc of their development toward equality, resilience, adaptability, and well-being, to achieve ever-unfolding harmony between civilization and nature. While these goals may never be fully attained, it we at least aspire to them, and approach every plan and constructive step with this intention, our cities will be richer and happier. A celebration of the city and an impassioned argument for its role in addressing important issues in these volatile times, The Well-Tempered City is a well-reasoned, hopeful blueprint for a thriving metropolis--and the future.--From dust jacket
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rose, Jonathan F. P
Dewey number
307.1/216
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
index present
LC call number
HT165.5
LC item number
.R67 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • City planning
  • Cities and towns
  • Community development
Label
The well-tempered city : what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life, Jonathan F. P. Rose
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part one: Coherence. The metropolitan tide ; Planning for growth ; Sprawl and its discontents ; The dynamically balancing city -- Part two: Circularity. The metabolism of cities ; Water is a terrible thing to waste -- Part three: Resilience. Natural infrastructure ; Green buildings, green urbanism -- Part four: Community. Creating communities of opportunity ; The cognitive ecology of opportunity ; Prosperity, equality, and happiness -- Part five: Compassion. Entwinement
Control code
ocn943709990
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiii, 463 pages
Isbn
9780062234728
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2016004096
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)943709990
Label
The well-tempered city : what modern science, ancient civilizations, and human nature teach us about the future of urban life, Jonathan F. P. Rose
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Part one: Coherence. The metropolitan tide ; Planning for growth ; Sprawl and its discontents ; The dynamically balancing city -- Part two: Circularity. The metabolism of cities ; Water is a terrible thing to waste -- Part three: Resilience. Natural infrastructure ; Green buildings, green urbanism -- Part four: Community. Creating communities of opportunity ; The cognitive ecology of opportunity ; Prosperity, equality, and happiness -- Part five: Compassion. Entwinement
Control code
ocn943709990
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiii, 463 pages
Isbn
9780062234728
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2016004096
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)943709990

Library Locations

    • Bemis Public LibraryBorrow it
      6014 South Datura Street, Littleton, CO, 80120, US
      39.6078903 -105.0037841
Processing Feedback ...